Menu
  • Please select what you would like to do, where and for how long!

World Unite! in Ghana

 
Ghana is a country in West Africa. Akwaaba! in Ashanti means "Welcome!" and is probably the word that you will hear most in Ghana, as the people of Ghana are extraordinarily welcoming.
 
While the north of Ghana is a rather sparsely populated savanna landscape, the south is more densely populated and humid. There are numerous rivers, lakes, waterfalls and tropical rain forests. The south’s fertile soils are used for agriculture such as the cultivation of cocoa, and the south is also rich in natural resources such as gold, diamonds and gas.
 
Ghana has a rich history. Since the 11th century, the territory which nowadays is Ghana, was home to relatively well developed kingdoms such as the Ashanti Empire, which were trading with gold and were building cities. The gold trade with the Portuguese and Dutch started in the 15th century. Along the 560 kms of the "Gold Coast" in the south, numerous castles, forts and ports can be found, which were built by the Portuguese, Dutch, Swedish, Danish, Germans and British for trade and colonialism. In 1957, Ghana was the first African country to achieve independence from Great Britain.
 
The sandy beaches along the coast are a tropical paradise. Besides many Ghanaians they also attract around half a million foreign tourists per year, who also visit the country because of its historical and cultural heritage, and to do a safari.
 
During recent years, Ghana achieved strong economic growth and is nowadays classified as an emerging country. Besides tourism, agriculture and the exploitation of natural resources, Ghana focuses on high technology such as the manufacturing of electronic products, car and ship building, and communication and information technology. The urban areas are relatively well developed in terms of access to education, medical care, accommodation and labour markets.
 
Our main locations in Ghana are the historic port city of Cape Coast, the capital, Accra and the Kakum National park.
 
You fly to Accra Kokata International Airport (ACC).
 
Ghana is considered to be a safe country . Even as a woman alone, there is no increased security risk, if you follow some basic rules. The official language is English.
 
Ghana

Locations in Ghana

Cape Coast

 

Cape Coast

 
 
Cape Coast is a city of about 170,000 inhabitants, on the coast south of Ghana. It is relatively easy to find your way through the city and public transport is cheap and good; this makes the city an attractive location for volunteering and internships. There are tropical beaches and locations for excursions, such as Kakum National Park. Cape Coast has a humid-tropical climate with nearly identical temperatures all year around, of about 30 degrees. May and June see the rainy season.
 

Our coordinators in Cape Coast

 
Our coordinators in Cape Coast are Sampson and Paschal, who collaborate with other team employees.

Accra

Accra

 
Mit 4 Millionen Einwohner inklusive der Metroregion ist Accra die größte Stadt Ghanas.

Kakum National Park

Kakum National park

 
The 375 square km Kakum National Park lies 33 kilometers north of Cape Coast and is covered by the tropical rainforest.
 
Since 1992, the forest area has had the status of a national park. The endangered Mona monkeys live here, as well as Diana monkeys, African Forest Elephants (a smaller subspecies of the African elephant), bongo antelopes, Buffalo, civets and 56 species of birds. 105 plant species have been described.
 
Unique to Africa is the 330-meter-long tour across suspension bridges between the 45 meter high treetops of the forest, which provides a view of the rainforest from a perspective that is uncommon for humans.
The park is managed by the Wildlife Department of Ghana, and is now one of the main tourist attractions of Ghana.
 

Activities in Ghana

Internship & Volunteering

In Cape Coast, we offer a wide range of voluntary work and internships in the areas of Welfare, education, medicine, nursing and psychology . At various sites of tourist interest, there are internships in Hotels . In Accra, we have internships in the areas of media (TV, radio, journalism), IT and medicine. In Kakum National Park, there are internships and volunteering in Environment/Biology.

You can find all the activities in Ghana in the main menu above or using our Activity Finder.
 

World Learner

 
In Ghana you can teach English and learn Akan, Fante and Twi, as well as learn traditional and modern East African dances. These activities can also be combined with your internship and volunteering project.

You can find the World Learner options in Ghana in the main menu above or through the Activity Finder.

Academics

Theses Abroad are possible in Ghana, in a variety of subject areas, where we can assist you because of our good connections with NGOs, government and private institutions. For the same reason, and because we are, at the same time logistical service providers (transport, accommodation, guides), we are the ideal partner for Group Study Tours and Special Interest Programs in Ghana.

Discovering The Land

Almost all of our participants travel around to get to know their host country, Ghana. We organize regular trips across the country.

Our Partners

  • partners03.jpg
  • partners04.jpg
  • partners05.jpg
  • partners06.jpg
  • partners07.jpg
  • partners08.jpg
  • partners09.jpg

Programs

Auslandspraktika Internships Abroad

A wide selection of internships in many countries. Read more...

 
Volunteering Volunteering

Charitable placements worldwide. Read more...

 
World Learner World Learner

Learn your host country's knowledge. Read more...

 
Aktivreisen Active Travel

Your alternative holidays. Read more...

 
Academix Academix

Dissertations, intercultural learning. Read more...

 
Work&Travel Working Holiday

Working Holiday in China and Japan. Read more...

Quick Poll!

Do you find on our website what you are looking for?

Login Form

Menu
  • Wähle hier aus, was du machen willst, wo und für wie lange!

World Unite! in Ghana

 
Ghana ist ein Land in Westafrika. Akwaaba! bedeutet auf Ashanti "Willkommen!" und ist das Wort, das Du in Ghana wohl am meisten hören wirst, denn die Menschen von Ghana sind ausgesprochen gastfreundlich.
 
Während der Norden von Ghana eine eher dünn besiedelte Savannenlandschaft ist, ist der Süden dichter besiedelt und feucht. Hier gibt es zahlreiche Flüsse, Seen, Wasserfälle und tropische Regenwälder. Auf den fruchtbaren Böden wird Landwirtschaft betrieben wie der Anbau von Kakao; der Süden ist auch reich an Bodenschätzen wie Gold, Diamanten, Erdöl und Erdgas.
 
Ghana hat eine reichhaltige Geschichte. Seit dem 11. Jahrhundert bestanden auf dem Gebiet des heutigen Ghana relativ weit entwickelte Königreiche wie das Königreich der Ashanti, die mit Gold handelten und Städte bauten. Der Goldhandel mit den Portugiesen und Holländern begann im 15. Jahrhundert. Entlang der 560 km langen "Gold Coast" im Süden gibt es aufgrund der Handelsbeziehungen und Kolonialzeit zahlreiche historische Burgen, Forts und Hafenanlagen der Portugiesen, Holländer, Schweden, Dänen, Deutschen und Engländer. 1957 war Ghana das erste afrikanische Land, das die Unabhängigkeit von Großbritannien erreichte.
 
Die Sandstrände entlang der Küste sind paradiesisch-tropisch. Neben vielen Ghanaern ziehen sie auch rund eine halbe Million ausländische Touristen im Jahr an, die auch aufgrund des historischen und kulturellen Erbes und für Safaris das Land besuchen.
 
Ghana gelang in den letzten Jahren ein starkes Wirtschaftswachstum und wird heute als Schwellenland klassifiziert. Neben Tourismus, Landwirtschaft und Abbau von Bodenschätzen setzt Ghana auf High-Tech wie Herstellung von Elektronikprodukten, Auto- und Schiffsbau, sowie Kommunikations- und Informationstechnologie. Die städtischen Gebiete sind relativ gut entwickelt was Zugang zu Bildung, medizinischer Versorgung, Wohnungen und Arbeitsmarkt betrifft.
 
Unsere Haupteinsatzorte in Ghana sind die historische Hafenstadt Cape Coast, die Hauptstadt Accra sowie der Kakum-Nationalpark.
 
Der Flughafen ist Accra Kokata International Airport (ACC).
 
Ghana gilt als sicheres Reiseland. Auch als Frau alleine gibt es kein erhöhtes Sicherheitsrisiko, wenn man sich an einige Grundregeln hält. Landessprache ist Englisch.
 
Ghana

Einsatzorte in Ghana

Cape Coast

 

Cape Coast

 
 
Cape Coast ist eine Stadt mit etwa 170,000 Einwohnern an der Küste im Süden von Ghana. Es ist relativ leicht, sich in der Stadt zurechtzufinden und der öffentliche Nahverkehr ist billig und gut, was die Stadt einen attraktiven Standort für Freiwilligeneinsätze und Praktika macht. Im Umfeld von Cape Coast gibt es Tropenstrände und Ausflugsmöglichkeiten wie den Kakum Nationalpark. In Cape Coast herrscht ein feucht-tropisches Klima mit nahezu ganzjährig identischen Temperaturen von um die 30 Grad. Mai und Juni sind Regenzeit.
 

Unsere Betreuer in Cape Coast

 
Unsere Betreuer in Cape Coast sind Sampson und Paschal, die mit weiteren Team-Mitarbeitern zusammenarbeiten.

Accra

Accra

 
Mit 4 Millionen Einwohner inklusive der Metroregion ist Accra die größte Stadt Ghanas.

Kakum Nationalpark

Kakum Nationalpark

 
Der 375 km2 große Kakum Nationalpark 33 km nördlich von Cape Coast ist von immerfeuchem tropischem Regenwald bedeckt.
 
Seit 1992 hat das Waldgebiet den Status eines Nationalparks. Die vom Aussterben bedrohten Monameerkatzen (Mona Monkeys) leben hier genauso wie Dianameerkatzen (Diana Monkey), Waldelelefanten (African Forest Elephants), eine kleinere Unterart der afrikanischen Elefanten, Bongoantilopen, Waldbüffel, Zibetkatzen (Viverrinae) und 56 Vogelarten. 105 Pflanzenarten wurden beschrieben.
 
Einzigartig in Afrika ist der 330 Meter lange Rundgang über Hängebrücken zwischen den 45 Meter hohen Baumkronen des Waldes, der den Blick auf den Regenwald aus einer für Menschen sonst kaum zu erreichenden Perspektive ermöglicht.
Der Park wird vom Wildlife Department of Ghana verwaltet. Er ist heute eine der Haupt-Touristenattraktionen von Ghana.
 

Aktivitäten in Ghana

Praktika & Volunteering

In Cape Coast bieten wir ein breites Spektrum von Freiwilligeneinsätzen und Praktika aus den Bereichen Soziales, Erziehung, Medizin, Pflege und Psychologie. An verschiedenen Standorten von touristischem Interesse gibt es Praktika in Hotels. In Accra haben wir besonders Praktika aus den Bereichen Medien (TV, Radio, Journalismus), IT und Medizin. Im Kakum Nationalpark gibt es Praktika und Freiwilligeneinsätze aus dem Bereich Umweltschutz/Biologie.

Du findest alle Praktika und Freiwilligeneinsätze in Ghana im Hauptmenü oben auf dieser Seite oder indem Du den Activity Finder nutzt.
 

World Learner

 
In Ghana kannst Du Englisch sowie die Sprachen Akan, Fante und Twi lernen, sowie traditionelle und moderne ostafrikanische Tänze. Diese Aktivitäten lassen sich auch hervorragend verbinden mit Praktika/Volunteering.

Du findest die World Learner-Angebote in Ghana im Hauptmenü und durch den Activity Finder.

Academix

Abschlussarbeiten sind in vielfältigen Themenbereichen in Ghana möglich, in denen wir dich aufgrund unserer guten inhaltlichen Verbindungen zu NGOs sowie staatlichen und privaten Einrichtungen unterstützen können. Aus demselben Grund sowie weil wir zugleich auch Infrastrukturdienstleister sind (Transporte, Unterbringungen, Guides), sind wir auch der ideale Ansprechpartner für Gruppen-Studienreisen und Special Interest-Programme in Ghana.

Das Land entdecken

Fast alle unsere Teilnehmer reisen auch umher, um ihr Gastland Ghana kennenzulernen. Wir organisieren regelmäßig Exkursionen im ganzen Land.

Unsere Partner

  • partners03.jpg
  • partners04.jpg
  • partners05.jpg
  • partners06.jpg
  • partners07.jpg
  • partners08.jpg
  • partners09.jpg

Programme

Auslandspraktika Auslandspraktika

Weite Auswahl von Praktika in vielen Ländern. Mehr lesen...

 
Volunteering Volunteering

Gemeinnützige Einsätze weltweit. Mehr lesen...

 
World Learner World Learner

Lerne das Wissen deines Gastlandes. Mehr lesen...

 
Aktivreisen Aktivreisen

Der alternative Urlaub. Mehr lesen...

 
Academix Academix

Studienarbeiten, interkulturelles Lernen. Mehr lesen...

 
Work&Travel Work&Travel

Work&Travel in China und Japan. Mehr lesen...

Abstimmung!

Findest du auf unserer Website, wonach du suchst?

Ja - 57%
Nein - 21.5%
Teilweise - 18.3%

Login Form