• Please select what you would like to do, where and for how long!

Active Travel: Voluntourism, Community Tourism, Special Interest Tours

In "Active Travel", we offer three forms of alternative tourism: Voluntourism, Community Tourism and Special Interest Tours.


Voluntourism, as you would guess, is a word created from "Volunteering" (i.e., volunteer work) and "tourism”. Thus, within your Voluntourism trip, you combine these two activities – i.e., you spend a few days at a non-profit organization, where you volunteer, and on other days, you do excursions, sightseeing and other activities.
This is the ideal option for people who want to volunteer, but have little time, and want to explore their host country for its natural wonders, attractions and diversity. We offer Voluntourism options for 3-21 days duration in several countries.


Why Voluntourism?
Almost everyone who travels as a volunteer to countries in Africa, Asia or South America, desires to see more of the place. Wouldn't it be a pity having been in Tanzania, without ever having seen the Serengeti, the Kilimanjaro or lions and giraffes in the wild?
We also see a growing number of tourists, particularly those traveling to the so-called, developing countries, expressing their desire to be active participants rather than passive observers.
Our Voluntourism packages cater to meet these two trends, and are planned and timed perfectly so as to enable an adequate mix of both.
When volunteering as part of a Voluntourism package, we choose activities for you that require only a short-term stay. A donation to benefit the project financially is included in the package.
We try to add the “sustainability” factor to all projects and activities that are chosen for you. Thus, local tourism and eco-tourism offers are integrated, and benefit from your visit. We work with small and medium sized local partners, to whom a socially and environmentally sustainable form of travel matters. Some of the activities you do and visit as a "Voluntourist" are offered by the same local partners, such as NGOs, where we also arrange long-time volunteering options. These visits and activities do not fall in the purview of usual tourist activities and give you a deeper insight into your host destination. Several such deals have been developed and organised by our interns in the area of sustainable tourism development. In many countries, sustainable tourism is a powerful engine of development. 
"Tourism" and "volunteering” are not two opposed things, but perfectly combine each other!
Here’s how to book a Voluntourism package you cannot resist:
You book your Voluntourism trip by filling out the Inquiry/Order Form.

Community Tourism

Community Tourism
Community Tourism is a form of tourism that is offered by local groups, such as an indigenous farming communities in Nicaragua or India, or members of a tribe in Africa. Tourists stay in local houses and lead simple lives with the locals, taking part either in their daily activities such as agriculture, or getting guided tours into the locality for insight into the peculiarities of the new culture.
Thus, you get first hand insights into the local culture by fully immersing with the community, giving you a unique experience, which is often the maximum contrast to your daily grind.
Why Community Tourism?
Community Tourism offers travelers opportunities and insights that are not possible in conventional forms of travel. Simultaneously, Community Tourism supports sustainable regional development.
In many cases, members of the community tourism initiatives were trained by NGOs or development programs that specialize in tourism potential development of rural regions. These include the command over foreign languages, hygiene in food preparation or general service knowledge. Ideally, after some time the project is passed on in full by the NGO to local initiatives and is henceforth, managed independently by them. For the people from the rural areas, this is an alternative source of income and makes them somewhat less dependent on the income from agriculture, which is often vulnerable to droughts and falling world market prices.
If travelers are interested in the local culture and nature, Community Tourism contributes to the preservation of local cultural and environmental protection. Through the training programs, as well as through dealing with travelers from around the world, Community Tourism promotes education and empowerment of those with lower educational levels.
In general, Community Tourism initiatives include schemes, by which the whole of the local community benefits from the proceeds of tourism, for instance through the funding of projects such as upgrading the village school or village water supply. Hence, Community Tourism contributes in various ways to rural development.
Here's how you can get involved in a Community Tourism project:
You book your Community Tourism Travel by filling out the Inquiry/Order Form.

Special Interest Group Programs

For groups (such as universities, schools, clubs, businesses, etc.), we organize customised high quality projects at reasonable prices in all our target countries.
Due to our excellent contacts with many NGOs, government institutions, universities, private companies and individuals, have our own qualified staff on site in many locations and even work with an infrastructure service provider (for accommodations, transfers, legal foundations, etc.), we are the perfect partner for:
* Internships and volunteering activities for groups
* Customised study trips
* Support with the implementation of activities of any kind in the locations where we operate
All details can be found here.

Our Partners

  • partners03.jpg
  • partners04.jpg
  • partners05.jpg
  • partners06.jpg
  • partners07.jpg
  • partners08.jpg
  • partners09.jpg


Auslandspraktika Internships Abroad

A wide selection of internships in many countries.

Volunteering Volunteering

Charitable placements worldwide.

World Learner World Learner

Learn your host country's knowledge.

Aktivreisen Active Travel

Your alternative holidays.

Academix Academix

Dissertations, intercultural learning.

Work&Travel Working Holiday

Working Holiday in China and Japan.

Quick Poll!

How do you like our new website?

Great - 73.8%
Average - 12.5%
Not so much - 2.5%

Login Form

Menu
  • Wähle hier aus, was du machen willst, wo und für wie lange!

Aktivreisen: Voluntourism, Community Tourism, Special Interest Tours

 
Unter "Aktivreisen" bieten wir drei Formen des alternativen Tourismus an: Voluntourism, Community Tourism und Special Interest Touren.
 

Voluntourism

 
voluntourism
 
Voluntourism ist eine Wortschöpfung aus den beiden Bestandteilen "Volunteering" (also Freiwilligenarbeit) und "Tourismus". Innerhalb deiner Voluntourism-Reise verbindest du diese beiden Aktivitäten also. Du verbringst einige Tage bei einer gemeinnützigen Organisation, bei der du eine Freiwilligentätigkeit ausführst und an anderen Tagen unternimmst du Ausflüge, Besichtigungen und andere Aktivitäten.
 
Diese Option ist perfekt für Reisende, die über wenig Zeit verfügen und sowohl einen Freiwilligeneinsatz durchführen, als auch die Naturwunder, Attraktionen und Vielfältigkeit ihres Reiseland möglichst gut kennenlernen wollen. Wir bieten Voluntourism-Reisen von 3 bis 21 Tagen Dauer in mehreren Ländern an.

 

Warum Voluntourism?
 
Nahezu jeder, der als Freiwillige(r) oder Praktikant in ein weit entferntes Land, etwa in Afrika, Asien oder Südamerika reist, möchte neben seiner Einsatztätigkeit auch in seinem Gastland herumreisen, um dessen kennenzulernen. Wäre ja auch schade, etwa in Tansania gewesen zu sein, ohne jemals die Serengeti, den Kilimanjaro oder Löwen und Giraffen gesehen zu haben.
 
Und eine wachsende Zahl von Touristen, besonders die, die in sogenannten Entwicklungsländer reisen, will in ihrem Urlaub nicht nur passiv konsumieren, sondern sich aktiv zugunsten ihres Reiselandes einsetzen. 
 
Diese Interessen decken unsere "Voluntourism-Reisen" ab. Dabei sind Freiwilligeneinsatz und Ausflüge zeitlich und inhaltlich gut aufeinander abgestimmt.
 
Beim Freiwilligeneinsatz als Teil des Voluntourism handelt es sich um solche Tätigkeiten, bei denen auch ein Kurzzeit-Aufenthalt eines Freiwilligen für das Projekt von Nutzen ist. Zudem kommt eine Spende dem Projekt zugute.
 
Bei den beinhalteten Ausflügen und Aktivitäten versuchen wir Wert auf "Nachhaltigkeit" zu legen. Lokale Tourismusinitiativen und Ökotourismusangebote sind integriert und profitieren von deinem Besuch. Wir arbeiten mit kleineren und mittleren lokalen Partnern zusammen, die Wert auf eine sozial- und umweltverträgliche Form des Reisen legen. Dabei sind zum Teil auch Besichtigungen von interessanten lokalen Projekten integriert, bei denen wir auch Freiwilligeneinsätze organisieren und in die man sonst als Tourist nicht so einfach kommt. Einige solche Angebote haben etwa unsere Praktikanten des Bereichs nachhaltiger Tourismusentwicklung mitorganisiert. In vielen Ländern ist nachhaltiger Tourismus ein kraftvoller Entwicklungsmotor.
 
"Tourismus" und "Volunteering" stehen sich nicht entgegen, sondern kombinieren sich wunderbar!
 
So geht’s:
Du buchst deine Voluntourism-Reise, indem du das Anfrage/Bestellformular ausfüllst.
 
 

Community Tourism

 
Community Tourism
 
Community Tourism ist eine Form des Tourismus, die von örtlichen Gruppen, etwa einer indigenen Bauerngemeinde in Nicaragua oder Indien oder Mitglieder eines Stammes in Afrika angeboten wird. Touristen wohnen in einfachen örtlichen Häusern und führen mit den Einheimischen entweder deren Alltagstätigkeiten wie Landwirtschaft aus, oder lassen sich von diesen auf Wanderungen in der Umgebung führen oder interessante Dinge aus der lokalen Kultur vorführen und erklären.
 
Man ist Teil der örtlichen Gesellschaft und bekommt das Leben der Menschen direkt und aus erster Hand mit. Ein wunderbares Erlebnis und oft der maximale Gegensatz zum Alltagstrott.
 
Warum Community Tourism?
 
Community Tourism bietet Reisenden Möglichkeiten und Einblicke, die in konventionellen Formen des Reisens nicht möglich sind. Gleichzeitig unterstützt Community Tourism nachhaltige regionale Entwicklung.
 
In vielen Fällen wurden die Mitglieder der Community-Tourismus-Initiativen trainiert, etwa von NGOs oder Entwicklungsprogrammen, die sich auf touristische Entwicklung ländlicher Regionen spezialisieren. Dazu gehören etwa das Beherrschen von Fremdsprachen, Hygiene in der Lebensmittelzubereitung oder allgemeine Dienstleistungskenntnisse. Im Idealfall wird nach einiger Zeit das Projekt vollständig von der NGO an die lokalen Initiative weitergegeben und wird von dieser eigenständig geführt. Für die Menschen aus den ländlichen Regionen handelt es sich um eine alternative Einkommensquelle und macht sie etwas weniger abhängig von den Erträgen der Landwirtschaft, die oft durch Dürren oder fallende Weltmarktpreise gefährdet sind.
 
Wenn sich Reisende für die örtliche Kultur und Natur interessieren trägt Community Tourism zum Erhalt lokaler Kultur und Umweltschutz bei. Durch die Trainingsprogramme sowie den Umgang mit Reisenden aus aller Welt fördert Community Tourism Bildung und Empowerment unterer Bildungsschichten.
 
In der Regel gibt es in Community-Tourism-Initiativen auch Schemen, nach denen die Gesamtheit der örtlichen Community von den Erträgen des Tourismus profitiert, etwa in dem Gemeinschaftsprojekte wie die Schule oder dörfliche Trinkwasserversorgung finanziell beteiligt werden. Community Tourism trägt somit vielfältig zur ländlichen Entwicklung bei.
 
So geht’s:
 
Du buchst deine Community-Tourism-Reise, indem du das Anfrage/Bestellformular ausfüllst.
 

Special Interest Gruppenprogramme

 
Für Gruppen (etwa Universitäten, Schulen, Vereine, Unternehmen, etc.) organisieren wir maßgeschneiderte qualitativ hochwertige Angebote zu attraktiven Preisen in allen unseren Zielländern.
 
Aufgrund unserer hervorragenden Kontakte zu vielen NGOs, Regierungseinrichtungen, Universitäten, privaten Unternehmen und Individuen und weil wir an vielen Standorten unsere eigenen, qualifizierten Mitarbeiter vor Ort haben und selbst als Infrastrukturdienstleister tätig sind (Unterbringungen, Transfers, rechtliche Grundlagen...) sind wir der ideale Ansprechpartner für:
 
* Praktika und Freiwilligeneinsätzen für Gruppen
* Maßgeschneiderte Studienreisen
* Unterstützung mit der Umsetzung von Aktivitäten jeglicher Art an den Orten, an denen wir tätig sind
 
Alle Details dazu findest du hier!

Unsere Partner

  • partners03.jpg
  • partners04.jpg
  • partners05.jpg
  • partners06.jpg
  • partners07.jpg
  • partners08.jpg
  • partners09.jpg

Programme

Auslandspraktika Auslandspraktika

Weite Auswahl von Praktika in vielen Ländern. Mehr lesen...

 
Volunteering Volunteering

Gemeinnützige Einsätze weltweit. Mehr lesen...

 
World Learner World Learner

Lerne das Wissen deines Gastlandes. Mehr lesen...

 
Aktivreisen Aktivreisen

Der alternative Urlaub. Mehr lesen...

 
Academix Academix

Studienarbeiten, interkulturelles Lernen. Mehr lesen...

 
Work&Travel Work&Travel

Work&Travel in China und Japan. Mehr lesen...

Abstimmung!

Findest du auf unserer Website, wonach du suchst?

Login Form