Menu
  • Please select what you would like to do, where and for how long!

World Unite! in Nicaragua

 
Nicaragua as a travel destination is unfortunately, not as popular as its neighbour Costa Rica, but it is a fascinating destination with many advantages.
 
It has Central America’s largest variety of landscapes and natural diversity. The largest natural parks with unique fauna and flora are be found in Nicaragua, forming the region’s “green lung”. Besides active volcanoes, big lakes and rivers, tropical rain forest and scarcely populated landscapes that, with their horses, cattle and small artisanal gold mines, make one think of the “Wild West”, there are Caribbean islands with paradise beaches. The cities of León and Granada are of Spanish-colonial flair with historical cathedrals, colonial mansions and Spanish-style plazas. The combination of Spanish-colonial and Indian heritage is visible in architecture, traditions and daily life.
 
The prices are relatively low and everything needed for life is easily available. Nicaragua has been politically stable for more than 20 years and is one of the safest countries of Latin America.
 
Besides this, it is particularly the charm, the inviting character and hospitality of the Nicaraguans, who call themselves 'Nicas', that make this country so special and adorable.
 
Several airlines such as Condor in cooperation with Copa Airlines, fly from Europe to the capital, Managua, but usually with change of flights. Several low-cost airlines in the Caribbean such as Spirit Airlines fly to Managua, so you can also book a cheap flight to other Caribbean airports and then book a flight with Spirit to Managua.
 
Our main location for projects is the colonial city of Leon . Projects are also available throughout the country in rural areas in environmental protection and tourism development.
 
The language spoken is Spanish throughout the country, and English on the Caribbean Coast.
 
 
nicaragua map
 

Locations in Nicaragua

Leon

Check out our video on León !

 
Philippa from Germany completed a 9-month internship in the kindergarten, "Los Ositos" in León, Nicaragua. In this video, she takes us through the city of León. We also meet the Spanish teacher Aura Cristina and our (former) supervisor, Ninoska.
 
 

León - Colonial City in Nicaragua

 
León (175,000 inhabitants) is an old Spanish colonial city, located at a distance of around 90 km from the capital Managua and the international airport. The attractive beaches of the Pacific coast are only 15 km away and are easily and inexpensively accessible by public bus.
 
The city has a special atmosphere which makes one think of its wealthy past. For a long time, the university city has been the country's intellectual hub. Particularly during the university terms, the city is full of young people and has a vivid student life. Tourism is not yet developed much, but is constantly growing.
 
Problems of the country that participants will face during their volunteering or internship placement are the lack of development, poverty, high unemployment and insufficient educational, medical and social systems, particularly in the rural areas. Many rural Nicas migrate to the cities or leave the country altogether. Around 20% of all Nicaraguans live outside their own country.
 

Coordinator in León

 
Our coordinator in León is Katherine from Nicaragua and Stefanie from Austria.
 

Recreational Activities in León

 
In León there are numerous bars and night clubs; almost every night one can find live music somewhere. There are cinemas and a theater. At the House of Culture one can take dance, music, drawing, ballet and taekwondo lessons. The Nicas love fitness; there is a gym at almost every street.
 
The beaches of the Pacific coast (Poneloya und Las Peñitas) are only 15-20 km away. It is possible to surf. Around León, there are ranches where you can do horseback riding. There are several small towns around León where you can visit colonial or Indian ruins and see local handcraft production sites. In a day trip, you can visit natural parks with crater lakes or mangrove lagoons where boat trips are possible, and where you can see many birds and alligators.
 
Throughout the year, there are many festivals which are often religious.
 
On a multi-day trip, you can see the less explored paradise, "Corn Island", on the English Caribbean coast of Nicaragua.
 

Activities in Nicaragua

Internships & Volunteering

In Leon, we offer a wide range of voluntary work and internships in the areas of welfare, education, medicine, nursing, environmental protection, culture and others.
 
You can find all the volunteering projects and internships in the main menu above or by using our Activity Finder.
 

World Learner

Language Training in Spanish can be done in León. In addition, you can learn everything about cocoa on a cocoa plantation in the south of Nicaragua on the Río San Juan.
 
You can find the World Learner options in Nicaragua in the main menu above or using the Activity Finder.
 

Academics

 
Theses Abroad are available in a variety of subject areas in Nicaragua, in which we can assist you because of our good connections with NGOs, government and private institutions. For the same reason, and because we are, at the same time logistical service providers (transport, accommodation, guides), we are the ideal partner for Group Study Tours and Special Interest Programs in Nicaragua.
 

Discovering The Land

Almost all of our participants also travel around to get to know their host country, Nicaragua. As World Unite! participants, we can offer you interesting excursions.

Our Partners

  • partners03.jpg
  • partners04.jpg
  • partners05.jpg
  • partners06.jpg
  • partners07.jpg
  • partners08.jpg
  • partners09.jpg

Programs

Auslandspraktika Internships Abroad

A wide selection of internships in many countries. Read more...

 
Volunteering Volunteering

Charitable placements worldwide. Read more...

 
World Learner World Learner

Learn your host country's knowledge. Read more...

 
Aktivreisen Active Travel

Your alternative holidays. Read more...

 
Academix Academix

Dissertations, intercultural learning. Read more...

 
Work&Travel Working Holiday

Working Holiday in China and Japan. Read more...

Quick Poll!

How do you like our new website?

Login Form

Menu
  • Wähle hier aus, was du machen willst, wo und für wie lange!

World Unite! in Nicaragua

 
Nicaragua ist als Reiseland leider nicht so bekannt wie das benachbarte Costa Rica, ist jedoch ein faszinierendes Reiseziel mit vielen Vorzügen.
 
Es hat die größte landschaftliche und Naturvielfalt Mittelamerikas. Die größten zusammenhängenden Naturparks mit einzigartiger Pflanzen- und Tierwelt liegen in Nicaragua und bilden die grüne Lunge Zentralamerikas. Neben aktiven Vulkanen, großen Seen und Flüssen, tropischem Regenwald und dünn besiedelten Landschaften mit Pferden, Rinderherden und kleinen Goldminen, die an den „Wilden Westen“ erinnern,  gibt es karibische Inseln mit paradiesischen Traumstränden. Die Kolonialstädte León und Granada sind spanisch-kolonial geprägt, mit Kathedralen, alten Herrenhäusern und Plätzen im spanischen Stil. Die Kombination aus spanisch-kolonialem und indianischem Erbe sind überall sichtbar in Architektur, Traditionen und im täglichen Leben.
 
Die Preise sind relativ günstig, alles zum Leben nötige ist leicht erhältlich. Nicaragua ist seit über 20 Jahren politisch stabil und gilt als eines der sichersten Länder Lateinamerikas.
 
Daneben es aber besonders der Charme, Offenheit und Gastfreundschaft der Nicaraguaner, die sich selbst "Nicas" nennen, die das Land so besonders und liebenswert machen.
 
Mehrere Fluglinien wie Condor in Kooperation mit Copa Airlines fliegen aus Europa in die Hauptstadt Managua, meist jedoch mit Umsteigen. Verschiedene Billigfluglinien der Karibik wie Spirit Airlines fliegen nach Managua, insofern kann man auch einen günstigen Flug mit Ferienfliegern zu anderen Karibikflughäfen buchen und dann unabhängig davon einen Flug mit Spirit hinzubuchen.
 
Unser Haupteinsatzort ist die Kolonialstadt León. Danaben gibt es im ganzen Land im ländlichen Raum Freiwilligeneinsätze und Praktika aus den Bereichen Umweltschutz und Tourismusentwicklung.
 
Sprachen sind im ganzen Land Spanisch, an der Karibikküste auch Englisch.
 
 
nicaragua map
 

Einsatzorte in Nicaragua

Leon

Schau Dir unser Video über León an!

 
Philippa aus Deutschland absolvierte ein 9-monatiges Praktikum im Kindergarten "Los Ositos" in León in Nicaragua. In diesem Video führt sie uns durch die Stadt León. Außerdem lernen wir die Spanisch-Sprachlehrerin Aura Cristina sowie unsere (ehemalige) Betreuerin Ninoska kennen.
 
 

León - Kolonialstadt in Nicaragua

 
León (175.000 Einwohner) ist eine alte spanische Kolonialstadt, etwa 90 km von der Hauptstadt Managua mit internationalen Flughafen entfernt. Bis zu den attraktiven Stränden der Pazifikküste sind es nur etwa 15 Kilometer; diese sind per Bus alle 45 Minuten günstig zu erreichen.
 
Die Stadt strahlt ein Flair aus, der an die reichen Zeiten erinnert. Seit jeher war die Universitätsstadt die intellektuelle Metropole des Landes. Besonders während den Universitätsemester ist die Stadt bevölkert von jungen Menschen und es gibt ein reichhaltiges studentisches Leben. Der Tourismus ist noch nicht weit entwickelt, aber in stetigem Wachstum.
 
Soziale Probleme, in denen Freiwillige und Praktikanten tätig sein können, sind fehlende Versorgungsangebote für Randgruppen der Gesellschaft, das Problem von nichtverheirateten Müttern und deren nichtehelichen Kindern, die von der traditionellen islamischen Gesellschaft ausgeschieden werden, Immigration aus Schwarzafrika Richtung Europa sowie in zunehmendem Maße Straßenkinder durch den Verfall familiärer Strukturen.
 

Betreuer in León

 
Unsere Betreuer in León sind Katherine aus Nicaragua und Stefanie aus Österreich.
 

Freizeitaktivitäten in León

 
In León gibt es zahlreiche Bars und Discotheken; fast täglich findet irgendwo Live-Musik statt. Zudem gibt es Kinos und ein Theater. Im Kulturhaus kann man Tanz-, Musik-, Zeichnen-, Ballett und Taekwondo-Unterricht nehmen. Die Nicas sind fitnessbesessen, in fast jeder Straße gibt es ein Fitness-Studio.
 
Die Strände der Pazifikküste (Poneloya und Las Peñitas) sind nur etwa 15-20 km entfernt. Dort kann man auch surfen. Um León gibt es Ranchs zum Reiten. In verschiedenen kleinen Ortschaften in der Umgebung Leóns kann man koloniale und indianische Ruinen sowie kunsthandwerkliche Produktionsstätten besichtigen. In Distanz eines Tagesausfluges bieten sich auch Besuche von Naturparks mit Kraterseen oder Mangrovenlagunen an, auf denen Bootsfahrten möglich sind. Dort gibt es viele Vögel und Alligatoren. Spannend sind Besteigungen der Vulkane Momotombo, Momotombito und Cerro Negro. Auf letzterem kann man auf einem Brett stehend oder sitzend die Asche herunterfahren („Ashboarding“).
 
Über das ganze Jahr verteilt gibt es zahlreiche Feste, die oft religiöse Gründe haben.
 
Auf einem mehrtägigen Trip kann man die touristisch kaum erschlossene, englischsprachige Karibikküste von Nicaragua bereisen mit der paradiesischen "Corn Island".
 

Aktivitäten in Nicaragua

Praktika & Volunteering

In León bieten wir ein breites Spektrum von Freiwilligeneinsätzen und Praktika aus den Bereichen Soziales, Erziehung, Medizin, Pflege, Umweltschutz, Kultur und anderem. In
 
Du findest alle Praktika und Freiwilligeneinsätze in Nicaragua im Hauptmenü oben auf dieser Seite oder indem Du den Activity Finder nutzt.
 

World Learner

Sprachunterricht in Spanisch gibt es in León. Außerdem kannst Du auf einer Kakaoplantage im Süden von Nicaragua am Rio San Juan alles über Kakaoanbau lernen.
Du findest die World Learner-Angebote in Nicaragua im Hauptmenü und durch den Activity Finder.

Academix

Abschlussarbeiten sind in vielfältigen Themenbereichen in Nicaragua möglich, in denen wir dich aufgrund unserer guten inhaltlichen Verbindungen zu NGOs sowie staatlichen und privaten Einrichtungen unterstützen können. Aus demselben Grund sowie weil wir zugleich auch Infrastrukturdienstleister sind (Transporte, Unterbringungen, Guides), sind wir auch der ideale Ansprechpartner für Gruppen-Studienreisen und Special Interest-Programme in Nicaragua.

Das Land entdecken

Fast alle unsere Teilnehmer reisen auch umher, um ihr Gastland Nicaragua kennenzulernen. Als World Unite! Teilnehmer können wir dir interessante Ausflugsmöglichkeiten anbieten.

Unsere Partner

  • partners03.jpg
  • partners04.jpg
  • partners05.jpg
  • partners06.jpg
  • partners07.jpg
  • partners08.jpg
  • partners09.jpg

Programme

Auslandspraktika Auslandspraktika

Weite Auswahl von Praktika in vielen Ländern. Mehr lesen...

 
Volunteering Volunteering

Gemeinnützige Einsätze weltweit. Mehr lesen...

 
World Learner World Learner

Lerne das Wissen deines Gastlandes. Mehr lesen...

 
Aktivreisen Aktivreisen

Der alternative Urlaub. Mehr lesen...

 
Academix Academix

Studienarbeiten, interkulturelles Lernen. Mehr lesen...

 
Work&Travel Work&Travel

Work&Travel in China und Japan. Mehr lesen...

Abstimmung!

Findest du auf unserer Website, wonach du suchst?

Ja - 57%
Nein - 21.5%
Teilweise - 18.3%

Login Form