Menu
  • Please select what you would like to do, where and for how long!

World Unite! in Galapagos

 
The Galapagos Islands are located some 930 km west of Ecuador in the Pacific Ocean. They are particularly known for their immense variety of endemic species of animals and plants that could develop here due to the isolation of the islands, which remained undiscovered until 1535. Endemic species include Galapagos Tortoises, Conolophus, Marine Iguanas, Galapagos Sea Lions, Galapagos Fur Seals, Galapagos Penguins, Nesoryzomys and hundreds of species of invertebrates and birds.
 
Charles Darwin made his famous observations about finches on the Galapagos Islands, resulting in his groundbreaking work “On the Origin of Species”, which is the basis of today’s understanding of evolution biology. The 14 species of finch-like singing birds from the Galapagos Islands all descend from one species, but through adaptive radiation developed to distinct species, primarily differing by the shape and size of their beaks, and nutrition and singing habits.
 
The Galapagos Archipelago comprises of 18 main islands of various sizes, which got their names after 16th century British pirates and noblemen, but which were additionally given Spanish names in 1832, when Ecuador annexed them. They have volcanoes of heights of up to 1700 m/5600 feet.
 
From 1832 a colony for detainees was established on Galapagos and several farmers and fishermen from Ecuador settled on the islands. In the 1920’s and 30’s there was a small wave of immigration by European families. Today, 5 out of the 18 islands are inhabited by a total of around 50,000 people.
 
In 1959 the whole territory of the island was given the status of a National Park with the exception of around 2.5% of the area which was populated. In 1986, the ocean surrounding the islands was additionally declared a marine reserve; it is the world’s second largest after the Australian Great Barrier Reef.
 
The largest threat to the islands’ unique fauna and flora are introduced plant and animal species and uncontrolled population growth.
 
In Galapagos we only offer internships and volunteer placements related to environmental conservation, biology and tourism/ecotourism on the island of San Cristobal.
 
The airports of Puerto Baquerizo Moreno (SCY) on San Cristobal and Seymore/Baltra Airport (GPS) can be reached by air daily from Quito and Guayaquil/Ecuador.

Galapagos 
 
 

Locations in Galapagos

Santa Cruz

 
The Santa Cruz Island, after Isabela, is the second largest but most populated island of the Galapagos archipelago. On the 800 meter high volcanic island, there are several villages where farmers mainly live.  The population is about 15,000 people. The capital of the island is Puerto Ayora and had 12,000 inhabitants, the largest city of the archipelago.  There are several banks, schools, hotels, shops and entertainment. Tortuga Bay is one of the main attractions of the island for tourists. The airport of Santa Cruz is located on the adjoining northern tip of Baltra Island (Seymour Airport - GPS)  with daily flights to Quito, Guayaquil and the neighboring island of San Cristobal). From Puerto Ayora there are ferries to the neighboring populated islands San Cristobal and Isabela. The airport can be reached by taking a bus from Puerto Ayora to Itabaca channel (only 400 meters wide),  there is then a ferry and then you continue by bus to the airport.
 
In Santa Cruz, we have assignments on an organic farm in rural areas (farming, rural tourism) and Tourism Internships in the town of Puerto Ayora.


San Cristobal

 
The island of San Cristobal consists of 3-4 coalesced volcanoes with a height of up to 730 meters. On it, live about 10,000 people. Puerto Baquerizo Moreno, the capital of Galapagos, is located on the southwest tip of the island. The city has about 7000 inhabitants, the second largest city of the Galapagos Islands to Puerto Ayora and has an airport (SCY), which is connected to Quito, Guayaquil and the neighboring island of Santa Cruz. Fishing and tourism are the main activities of the inhabitants of the city.
 
On San Cristobal we offer internships (National Park Service), Spanish language classes in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno and placements on an organic farm in rural areas (farming, rural tourism).
 

Isabela

 
Isabela is the largest island and about four times as big as Santa Cruz. The island is particularly known for its animal life. It is less populated than Santa Cruz and San Cristobal; the largest village is called Puerto Villamil and is located on the southeastern tip, opposite of Santa Cruz. With about 2200 inhabitants, it is the third largest city in the Galapagos archipelago.
 
The temperatures of the coastal resorts on Galapagos remain throughout the year between 19 degrees minimum and 30 degrees maximum.
 
Isabela is a part of our 24-days Voluntourism program (the volunteering work is found on Santa Cruz and San Cristobal).
 

Activities in Galapagos

Internships & Volunteering

In San Cristobal and Santa Cruz, we offer internships and volunteer work in the areas of environmental conservation, biology, ecology, geography and sustainable tourism development.
 
You can find the volunteering and internship options in Galápagos in the main menu above, or through the Activity Finder.

World Learner

Language Training in Spanish is possible in the mainland in three locations: Quito, Puerto Quito, Puerto Lopez and also at the Galapagos.
 
You can find World Learner options in Ecuador in the main menu above or through the Activity Finder.
 

Active Travel

We have a 24-day Voluntourism program, in which you can do voluntary work in a kindergarten and an organic farm for a week and go for excursions around the island. You will visit the three islands of Isabela, San Cristobal and Santa Cruz.

Discover The Country

Before or after your internship or volunteer program, you can explore the Galapagos and visit natural wonders like Tortuga Bay, Las Loberías, León Dormido (Kicker Rock), Tintoreras, the Reserva El Chato, or visit the Charles Darwin visitor center. There are also beautiful beaches to relax in and enjoy water sports.

Our Partners

  • partners03.jpg
  • partners04.jpg
  • partners05.jpg
  • partners06.jpg
  • partners07.jpg
  • partners08.jpg
  • partners09.jpg

Programs

Auslandspraktika Internships Abroad

A wide selection of internships in many countries. Read more...

 
Volunteering Volunteering

Charitable placements worldwide. Read more...

 
World Learner World Learner

Learn your host country's knowledge. Read more...

 
Aktivreisen Active Travel

Your alternative holidays. Read more...

 
Academix Academix

Dissertations, intercultural learning. Read more...

 
Work&Travel Working Holiday

Working Holiday in China and Japan. Read more...

Quick Poll!

Do you find on our website what you are looking for?

Yes - 57%
No - 21.5%
Partially - 18.3%

Login Form

Menu
  • Wähle hier aus, was du machen willst, wo und für wie lange!

World Unite! in Galapagos

 
Die Galapagos-Inseln liegen 930 km westlich von Ecuador in Pazifischen Ozean. Sie sind besonders bekannt für ihre riesige Anzahl von endemischen Tier- und Pflanzenarten, die sich evolutionsbiologisch aufgrund der isolierten Lage der bis 1535 unentdeckten Inseln nur hier entwickelten. Dazu gehören Galapagos-Riesenschildkröten (Galapagos tortoise), Galapagos-Landleguane (Conolophus), Meerechsen (marine iguana), Galapagos-Seelöwen (Galapagos sea lion), Galapagos-Seebären (Galapagos fur seal), Galapagos-Pinguine (Galapagos Penguin), Galapagos-Reisratten (Nesoryzomys) sowie hunderte Arten von wirbellosen Tieren und Vögeln.
 
Charles Darwin machte auf den Galapagos-Inseln seine Beobachtungen mit Finken, die zur Formulierung des epochalen Werks "On the Origin of Species" („Über die Entstehung der Arten“) und damit zum heutigen Verständnis der Evolutionsbiologie führten. Die 14 Arten von finkenähnlichen Singvögeln auf den Galapagosinseln stammen alle von einer Art ab, aber entwickelten sich durch adaptive Radiation zu eigenständigen Arten, die sich hauptsächlich durch Form und Größe ihres Schnabels sowie Ernährungs- und Gesangsweisen voneinander unterscheiden.
 
Das Galapagos-Archipel besteht aus 18 Hauptinseln verschiedener Größe, die im 16. Jahrhundert nach englischen Piraten und Adligen benannt wurden, aber seit 1832, als sich Ecuador die Inseln einverleibte zusätzlich spanische Namen bekamen. Sie haben bis zu 1700 m hohe hohe Vulkane.
 
Ab 1832 gab es eine Strafgefangenenkolonie auf Galapagos und es siedelten einige Bauern und Fischer aus Ecuador auf die Inseln. In den 1920er und 30er-Jahren gab es eine kleine Einwanderungswelle von europäischen Familien. Heute sind 5 der 18 Inseln bewohnt von insgesamt etwa 50.000 Menschen.
 
Seit 1959 sind die gesamten Inseln Nationalpark mit Ausnahme der 2.5% Fläche, die besiedelt wurden. 1986 wurde der Ozean um die Inseln zusätzlich zum Marineschutzgebiet erklärt, dem zweitgrößten weltweit nach dem australischen Great Barrier Reef. Die Charles Darwin Foundation betreibt auf der Santa Cruz Insel eine Forschungsstation, die mit der Nationalparkverwaltung zusammenarbeitet.
 
Die größte Bedrohungen der einzigartigen Fauna und Flora der Inseln stellen eingeschleppte Pflanzen- und Tierarten sowie das unkontrollierte Bevölkerungswachsum dar.
 
In Galapagos bieten wir nur Praktika und Freiwilligeneinsätze sowie ein Voluntouris-Programm aus den Bereichen Umweltschutz, Biologie und Tourismus/Ökotourismus an.
 
Die Flughäfen Puerto Baquerizo Moreno (SCY) auf San Cristobal und Seymore/Baltra Airport (GPS) sind per Flugzeug täglich ab Quito und Guayaquil/Ecuador zu erreichen.

Galapagos 
 
 

Orte in Galapagos

Santa Cruz

 
Die Santa Cruz-Insel ist nach Isabela die zweitgrößte, aber meistbevölkerte Insel des Galapagos-Archipels. Auf der über 800 Meter hohen Vulkaninsel gibt es mehrere Dörfer, in denen hauptsächlich Landwirte leben. Die Bevölkerungszahl beträgt etwa 15.000 Personen. Die Hauptstadt der Insel heißt Puerto Ayora und ist mit 12.000 Einwohnern die größte Stadt des Archipels. Hier gibt es mehrere Banken, Schulen, Hotels, Geschäfte und Unterhaltungsangebote. Tortuga Bay ist eine der Hauptattraktionen der Insel für Touristen. Der Flughafen für Santa Cruz liegt auf der an der Nordspitze angrenzenden Insel Baltra (Seymour Airport, GPS; tägliche Flüge nach Quito, Guayaquil und zur Nachbarinsel San Cristobal). Von Puerto Ayora gibt es Fähren auf die bevölkerten Nachbarinseln San Cristobal und Isabela. Den Flughafen erreicht man per Bus vom Puerto Ayora zum Itabaca-Kanal (der nur 400 Meter breit ist), setzt dort per Fähre über und fährt dann weiter per Bus zum Flughafen.
 
Auf Santa Cruz bieten wir Einsätze auf einer Ökofarm im ländlichen Raum (Farming, Landtourismus) sowie Tourismus-Praktika in der Stadt Puerto Ayora.


San Cristobal

 
Die Insel San Cristobal besteht aus 3-4 zusammengewachsenen Vulkanen mit einer Höhe von bis zu 730 Metern. Auf ihr leben etwa 10.000 Personen. Puerto Baquerizo Moreno, die Hauptstadt von Galapagos, liegt an der Südwestspitze dieser Insel. Die Stadt ist mit etwa 7000 Einwohnern nach Puerto Ayora die zweitgrößte Stadt der Galapagos-Inseln und verfügt über einen Flughafen (SCY), der von Quito, Guayaquil und der Nachbarinsel Santa Cruz angeflogen wird. Fischerei und Tourismus sind die Hauptaktivitäten der Bewohner der Stadt.
 
Auf San Cristobal bieten wir Praktika (Nationalparkverwaltung) und Spanisch-Sprachunterricht in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno sowie Einsätze auf einer Ökofarm im ländlichen Raum (Farming, Landtourismus).
 

Isabela

 
Isabela ist die größte der Inseln und etwa viermal so groß wie Santa Cruz. Die Insel besticht besonders durch ihr Tierleben. Sie ist weniger bevölkert als Santa Cruz und San Cristobal; das größte Dorf heißt Puerto Villamil und liegt an der Südostspitze gegenüber von Santa Cruz. Mit etwa 2200 Einwohnern ist es der drittgrößte Ort des Galapagos-Archipels.
 
Die Temperaturen der Küstenorte auf Galapagos betragen ganzjährig zwischen 19 Grad Tiefst- und 30 Grad Höchstwerten.
 
Isabela wird besucht als Teil unseres 24-Tage-Voluntourism-Programms (die Volunteering-Einsätze dazu finden auf Santa Cruz und San Cristobal statt).
 

Aktivitäten in Galapagos

Praktika & Volunteering

Auf San Cristobal und Santa Cruz bieten wir Praktika und Freiwilligeneinsätze aus den Bereichen Umwelt-/Naturschutz, Biologie, Ökologie, Geographie sowie nachhaltige Tourismusentwicklung.
 
Du findest alle Praktika und Freiwilligeneinsätze auf Galapagos im Hauptmenü oben auf dieser Seite oder indem Du den Activity Finder nutzt.

World Learner

Sprachunterricht in Spanisch gibt es an allen drei Standorten: Quito, Puerto Quito, Puerto Lopez und auch auf Galapagos.
 
Du findest die World Learner-Angebote in Ecuador im Hauptmenü und durch den Activity Finder.
 

Aktivreisen

Wir haben ein 24-Tage Voluntourism-Programm, bei dem du in einem Kindergarten sowie einer Ökofarm für jeweils eine Woche freiwillige Arbeit leistest und Exkursionen durchführst. Du lernst dabei die drei Inseln Isabela, San Cristobal und Santa Cruz kennen.

Das Land entdecken

Nach oder vor deinem Praktikum oder Freiwilligendienst kannst du Galapagos erkunden und dabei hauptsächlich Naturwunder besuchen wie Tortuga Bay, Las Loberías, León Dormido (Kicker Rock), Las Tintoreras, die Reserva El Chato oder das Charles Darwin-Besucherzentrum besuchen. Es gibt auch paradiesische Strände zum Entspannen und Wassersport treiben.

Unsere Partner

  • partners03.jpg
  • partners04.jpg
  • partners05.jpg
  • partners06.jpg
  • partners07.jpg
  • partners08.jpg
  • partners09.jpg

Programme

Auslandspraktika Auslandspraktika

Weite Auswahl von Praktika in vielen Ländern. Mehr lesen...

 
Volunteering Volunteering

Gemeinnützige Einsätze weltweit. Mehr lesen...

 
World Learner World Learner

Lerne das Wissen deines Gastlandes. Mehr lesen...

 
Aktivreisen Aktivreisen

Der alternative Urlaub. Mehr lesen...

 
Academix Academix

Studienarbeiten, interkulturelles Lernen. Mehr lesen...

 
Work&Travel Work&Travel

Work&Travel in China und Japan. Mehr lesen...

Abstimmung!

Findest du auf unserer Website, wonach du suchst?

Login Form