Menu
  • Please select what you would like to do, where and for how long!

World Unite! in Israel

 
To mention it right from the start: There is no elevated safety risk if you take part in our programs in Israel. Please read the explanations below the get a general overview over the safety situation.
 
We have two main locations for volunteering, internships, World Learner and voluntourism in Israel. One is the town of Tamra in Galilee in the north of Israel. Tamra is part of the wider Akko-Haifa-Tamra area. These three cities are located some 15-30 minutes' drive from each other, and are well connected via buses, train (Akko-Haifa) and communal taxis. It is easy to move between the three cities. The second location is the Bedouin village Qasr A-Sir in the Negev Desert in the south of Israel.
 
Israel is a very developed country of European/North American standards. The institutions and organizations in Tamra where we offer volunteer and internship placements, just as the accommodation options, are of the same or even higher standard than in Europe or the US. The Bedouins in the Negev Desert however live under simple conditions.
 
Arabic is spoken both in Tamra and among the Bedouins. In Tamra, many people also speak Hebrew and English, some even German. Arabic skills are not required for participants.
 
You reach Israel by aircraft to Tel Aviv Airport, the country's only international airport. Numerous airlines have scheduled flights to Tel Aviv from Europe and the US. From Tel Aviv there are good train connections to Akko and Haifa, the ride takes 90-120 minutes without changing trains. You reach the Negev Desert by train to Be'er Sheva (around 90 minutes from Tel Aviv Airport) and from there by bus to Qasr A-Sir (20 mins).
 
israel map
 

Locations in Israel

Tamra

 
Tamra is part of the metropolitan area Haifa-Akko-Tamra . These three cities are located only 15-30 minutes drive away from each other, and are accessible by buses, train (Akko-Haifa) and taxis. One can easily move between these three places and should look at the three locations as a common metropolitan area.
 
Tamra (25,000 inhabitants) is located on the hills which rise behind the plains of Akko. With clear weather, from Akko you have a fantastic view over Akko and the Mediterranean Sea. For this reason, Tamra is a popular town for short trips for people from the neighbouring cities, who enjoy Tamra's attractively priced traditional Arabic restaurants.
 
The town is dominated by Arabic Israelis living in extended family clans. Arts, culture and community are highly valued in Tamra; many citizens are highly educated and have studied abroad. They are particularly friendly and open towards foreigners and it is easy for our participants to get integrated into the town community.
 
Tamra is also famous for its extravagant weddings. There are several locations where weddings are celebrated. During the "wedding season", from May to October, Tamra hosts 7-10 large weddings every day.
 
The historical port town of Akko (also: Akkon) has around 50,000 inhabitants. Its old town atmosphere is very oriental. Akko has been mentioned in the bible's Old Testament; Alexander the Great, the Romans, Sultan Saladin, and the Crusaders have all been to Akko. Napoleon didn't succeed to conquer the city though. The old town of Akko as a UNESCO World Heritage site is part of every Israel round trip. During the summer, Akko's beach is very populated, and Akko's Arabian market is a popular location for tourists and locals alike.
 
Haifa (270,000 inhabitants) is after Tel Aviv and Jerusalem, Israel's third largest city. It is a city full of life as there are more than 40,000 students studying at Haifa University and numerous colleges. For that reason, Haifa has a wide selection of bars and clubs. During the summer, the beaches behind Mount Carmel are populated at day and night by young people.
 
Between Haifa, Akko and Tamra there are not only olive and pomegranate plantations, but also the so-called "Krayots" which are several villages belonging to the wider area of Haifa. They have modern entertainment facilities such as multiplex cinemas, bars and bowling allies.
 
Recreational Activities in Tamra/Akko/Haifa
 
There are numerous ways to spend leisure time in Tamra, Akko and Haifa. All cities are full of cultural life. During the hot summer, you can go to the beaches; Tamra also has a public swimming pool.
 
Day trips in Israel, which can be done from Akko/Tamra/Haifa, include visiting mystical historical sites such as Jerusalem, Nazareth, Safed, the Sea of Galilee and Magito, where, according to the prophecy of Jews, Christians and Muslims alike, the final battle of "Armageddon" will take place. In the nature of the hilly north, it is possible to hike, mountainbike and even ski in the winter time.

Negev

Informationen über die Negev gibt es hier in Kürze.
 

Activties in Israel

Internships & Volunteering

In Tamra, we offer a wide range of voluntary work and internships, particularly in the fields of social work, education, psychology, special education, environmental protection, agriculture and culture. In the Negev desert, it revolves around women's empowerment, ecotourism development and construction projects. You can find all internships and volunteer projects in the main menu above under "Internships and Volunteering" or through the Activity Finder.

World Learner

In Tamra and in the Negev desert, you can take Arabic lessons.
 
 
Security in Israel
 
When you tell your family or friends about your plan to go to Israel as a volunteer or intern, you probably have to face concerns about the safety situation. In the media, the image of Israel is dominated by acts of violence between Jewish settlers and Palestinian, and by conflicts with neighbouring countries.
 
This fear is mostly without any reason. Around 2 million tourists visit Israel annually. Tourists have never been the goal of violence and the security measures in the country are very high so that it is almost impossible to get oneself into critical situation by accident.
 
The only problematic area is geographically limited to the Gaza Strip. You should not travel to the Gaza Strip. As it is anyway ccompletely closed by military/police so that it is impossible for you to enter it accidentally. The same is true about any other place in Israel where there might be possible conflicts. They will be preventively blocked, such as the old town of Jerusalem from time to time, as there is a a conflict about a Mosque which got occupied by Jews who believe that the remains of a Jewish cult site are to be found under the Mosque. If you plan a day trip to Jerusam, you should ask our local coordinators if entering Jerusalem is possible on that day. They are following the news every day and will know.
 
The safety measures in the whole country are extremely high. At train stations or the main terminals of the buses there are security checks similar to airports, and the security controls at Tel Aviv airport are higher than in any other international airport.
 
There is almost no petty crime in Israel and women can move freely.
 
Should the safety situation in Israel change so that we consider it irresponsible for you to travel to Israel after your booking is made, we will fully refund you.

Our Partners

  • partners03.jpg
  • partners04.jpg
  • partners05.jpg
  • partners06.jpg
  • partners07.jpg
  • partners08.jpg
  • partners09.jpg

Programs

Auslandspraktika Internships Abroad

A wide selection of internships in many countries. Read more...

 
Volunteering Volunteering

Charitable placements worldwide. Read more...

 
World Learner World Learner

Learn your host country's knowledge. Read more...

 
Aktivreisen Active Travel

Your alternative holidays. Read more...

 
Academix Academix

Dissertations, intercultural learning. Read more...

 
Work&Travel Working Holiday

Working Holiday in China and Japan. Read more...

Quick Poll!

How do you like our new website?

Login Form

Menu
  • Wähle hier aus, was du machen willst, wo und für wie lange!

World Unite! in Israel

 
Um es gleich vorweg zu sagen: Es besteht kein erhöhtes Sicherheitsrisiko, wenn du an unseren Programmen in Israel teilnimmst. Bitte schau dir untenstehende Erläuterungen dazu an, um einen grundlegenden Überblick zu bekommen.
 
Unsere Einsätze in Israel finden momentan an zwei Orten statt: In der Kleinstadt Tamra in Galiläa im Norden Israels sowie in der Region Be'er Sheva in der Negev-Wüste im Süden des Landes. Die Bewohner von Tamra sind Palästinenser; die Zielgruppe der Einsätze in der Negev-Wüste sind Bedouinen.
 
Israel ist ein weit entwickeltes Land europäischen Standards. Die Einrichtungen in Tamra, in denen Praktikanten und Freiwillige tätig sein können sowie die Unterküfte dort sind gleichen oder sogar höheren Standards als in Europa. Die Beduinen in der Negev-Wüste leben jedoch unter einfachen Bedingungen.
 
Sowohl in Tamra als auch unter den Bedouinen wird arabisch gesprochen. In Tamra sprechen viele Bürger zudem Hebräisch und Englisch, einige sogar Deutsch. Arabischkenntnisse werden nicht vorausgesetzt.
 
Nach Israel kommst Du per Flugzeug nach Tel Aviv, dem einzigen internationalen Flughafen des Landes. Zahlreiche Airlines, darunter auch Billigflieger fliegen nach Tel Aviv. Von Tel Aviv gibt es eine gute Zugverbindung nach Akko und Haifa, die Fahrt dauert etwa 90-120 Minuten ohne Umsteigen. In die Negev-Wüste kommst Du per Zug nach Be'er Sheva (ca. 90 Minuten).
 
israel map
 

Einsatzorte in Israel

Tamra

 
Tamra ist Teil des Großraums Haifa-Akko-Tamra. Diese drei Städte liegen nur jeweils 15-30 Minuten Fahrzeit voneinander entfernt und sind gut mit Bussen, Zug (Akko-Haifa) und Sammeltaxis verbunden. Man kann sich leicht zwischen diesen drei Orte bewegen und sollte die drei Orte als einen gemeinsamen Großraum ansehen.
 
Tamra (25.000 Einwohner) liegt auf den Hügeln, die sich hinter der Ebene von Akko erheben. Bei klarem Wetter hat man von Tamra einen tollen Blick über Akko und das Mittelmeer. Aus diesem Grund ist Tamra ein beliebter Ort für Kurzausflüge von Bürgern der umliegenden Städte, die Tamras traditionelle arabische Gastronomie zu attraktiven Preisen schätzen.
 
In der Kleinstadt leben fast nur arabische Israelis in großfamiliären Strukturen. Kunst, Kultur und Gemeinschaft haben in Tamra einen hohen Stellenwert, viele Bürger sind sehr gebildet und haben im Ausland, darunter auch in Deutschland studiert. Gegenüber Ausländern ist man ausgesprochen freundlich und aufgeschlossen und unsere Teilnehmer finden in Tamra leicht Familienanschluss. Viele Bewohner von Tamra waren schon in Bremen-Hemelingen, zu dem seit vielen Jahren eine Städtepartnerschaft besteht.
 
Tamra ist auch beliebt für ausschweifende Hochzeiten. Es gibt mehrere Einrichtungen, die professionell Hochzeitsfeiern organisieren. Während der "Hochzeitssaison" von Mai bis Oktober finden in Tamra täglich 7-10 größere Hochzeiten statt.
 
Die geschichtsträchtige Hafenstadt Akko (auch: Akkon) hat rund 50.000 Einwohner und mutet sehr orientalisch an. Schon im alten Testament der Bibel ist von Akko die Rede. Alexander der Große, die Römer, Sultan Saladin und die Kreuzritter waren in Akko. Napoleon gelang es nicht, Akko zu erobern. Die Altstadt ist UNESCO Weltkulturerbe und Bestandteil jeder Israelrundreise. Akko hat einen im Sommer lebendigen Strand, auch der arabische Markt ist ein beliebtes Ziel für Einheimische und Touristen.
 
Haifa (270.000 Einwohner) ist nach Tel Aviv und Jerusalem die drittgrößte Stadt Israels. Dort gibt es ein lebendiges junges Leben, denn an der Universität Haifa studieren über 40.000 Studenten, daneben gibt es zahlreiche Colleges. Dementsprechend gibt es ein vielfältiges Angebot von Bars und Clubs. Im Sommer sind die Strände unter dem Karmelberg Tag und Nacht besiedelt von jungen Menschen.
 
Zwischen Haifa, Akko und Tamra gibt es zwischen Oliven- und Granatapfelplantagen mehrere Dörfer, die sogenannten „Krayots“, die zum Einzugsgebiet Haifas zählen. Dort gibt es moderne Unterhaltseinrichtungen wie Multiplex-Kinos, Bars und Bowlinghallen.
 
Freizeitangebote in Tamra/Akko/Haifa
 
Wie bereits erwähnt gibt es zahlreiche Möglichkeiten, seine Freizeit in Tamra, Akko und Haifa zu verbringen. In allen Städten gibt es ein ausgeprägtes kulturelles Leben. Im heißen Sommer bieten sich die Strände an, in Tamra gibt es auch ein Schwimmbad.
 
Tagesausflüge in Israel, die man von Akko/Tamra/Haifa durchführen kann beinhalten einen Besuch der mythischen geschichtsträchtigen Orte Jerusalems, Nazareths, Safed, See Genezareth und Magito, wo den Prophezeihungen der Juden, Christen und Muslime zufolge die endzeitliche Endscheidungsschlacht „Harmagedon“ (auf Englisch auch: Armageddon) stattfinden soll. In der Natur des bergigen Norden des Landes kann man Fahrradfahren, Wandern und im Winter sogar Skifahren.

Negev

Informationen über die Negev gibt es hier in Kürze.
 

Aktivitäten in Israel

Praktika & Volunteering

In Tamra bieten wir ein breites Angebot von Freiwilligeneinsätzen und Praktika, besonders aus den Bereichen Soziales, Bildung, Psychologie, Sonderpädagogik, Umweltschutz, Landwirtschaft und Kultur. In der Negev-Wüste dreht es sich um Frauen-Empowerment, Ökotourismus-Entwicklung und Bauprojekte. Du findest alle Praktika und Freiwilligendienste im Hauptmenü oben unter "Praktika & Volunteering" und über den Activity Finder.

World Learner

In Tamra und in der Negev-Wüste kannst du Arabisch lernen.
 
 
Sicherheit in Israel
 
Wenn du deiner Familie oder Freunden erzählst, nach Israel zum Praktikum oder zur Freiwilligenarbeit gehen zu wollen wirst du dir vermutlich Sicherheitsbedenken anhören müssen. Das Bild Israels in den Medien ist geprägt durch gewaltsame Auseinandersetzungen zwischen jüdischen Siedlern und Palästinensern, bzw. Konflikten mit den Nachbarstaaten.
 
Diese Angst ist weitestgehend unbegründet. Rund 2 Millionen Touristen besuchen das Land jährlich. Touristen waren nie das Ziel von Gewalt und die Sicherheitsvorkehrungen im Land sind so hoch, dass es nahezu ausgeschlossen ist, dass man sich als Tourist zufällig in eine kritische Lage bringt.
 
Das problematische Gebiet beschränkt sich geographisch eigentlich nur auf den Gaza-Streifen. Den Gazastreifen solltest du nicht besuchen. Da dieser aber sowieso von den Sicherheitskräften abgeriegelt ist, ist es unmöglich, dass du dort zufällig hineingerätst. Dasselbe gilt für jegliche Orte, an denen auch nur möglicherweise Konflikt entstehen könnte. Diese werden vorbeugend abgesperrt, etwa gelegentlich die Altstadt von Jerusalem. Für einen Tagesausflug nach Jerusalem solltest du dich vorher informieren, ob der Besuch der Altstadt möglich ist. Unsere örtlichen Betreuer verfolgen täglich die Nachrichten und du kannst sie fragen.
 
Die Sicherheitsvorkehrungen im Land sind enorm hoch. An den Bahnhöfen oder dem Hauptterminal der Busse gibt es Sicherheitschecks wie an Flughäfen, und die Kontrollen im Flughafen von Tel Aviv sind nochmal eine Spur aufwändiger als üblich.
 
Kleinkriminalität besteht in Israel so gut wie nicht und auch Frauen können sich in Israel frei bewegen.
 
Sollte sich die politische Lage in Israel nach deiner Anmeldung ändern, sodass wir es für nicht verantwortbar erachten, dass du nach Israel reist, dann erstatten wir dir selbstverständlich sämtliche bezahlten Kosten zurück.

Unsere Partner

  • partners03.jpg
  • partners04.jpg
  • partners05.jpg
  • partners06.jpg
  • partners07.jpg
  • partners08.jpg
  • partners09.jpg

Programme

Auslandspraktika Auslandspraktika

Weite Auswahl von Praktika in vielen Ländern. Mehr lesen...

 
Volunteering Volunteering

Gemeinnützige Einsätze weltweit. Mehr lesen...

 
World Learner World Learner

Lerne das Wissen deines Gastlandes. Mehr lesen...

 
Aktivreisen Aktivreisen

Der alternative Urlaub. Mehr lesen...

 
Academix Academix

Studienarbeiten, interkulturelles Lernen. Mehr lesen...

 
Work&Travel Work&Travel

Work&Travel in China und Japan. Mehr lesen...

Abstimmung!

Wie gefällt dir unsere neue Website?

Login Form