Print E-mail
Cocinarte
 
Cocinarte
 
Cocinarte
 
Cocinarte
 
Cocinarte
 
Cocinarte
 
Cocinarte
 
Cocinarte
 

Maasai Camel safari

In the early 90's, a Tanzanian of Somalian origin brought 20 camels from Somalia to Tanzania to offer camel riding as a tourist activity. However, he did not officially register his business and after a while, the Tanzanian tax authorities were after him. As a consequence, he fled the country and left the camels behind.

The Tanzanian tax authorities integrated the camels into a national poverty-reduction program that had already been running for a couple of years. The program provides deprived families with a cow or a goat, who in exchange have to give the first offspring of the animal to another poor family. Thus the camels multiplied and became part of the local livestock. Today they are mostly used as means of transport and to carry loads, together with local donkeys. The Tanzanian climate does not seem to be a problem for the animals; they are in best health and able to breed. There are approximately 400 camels in Tanzania today, all going back to the 20 original Somalian camels.

In 2005, an Italian NGO together with Maasai people of the „Mkuru“ area revived camel-riding as tourist offer. The project is now entirely run by Maasai people, supported by the „Tanzania Cultural Tourism Programme“ that was initiated by the Tanzania Tourist Board.
 
The „Mkuru Camel Group“ (MCG), consisting of 16 Maasai, owns approximately 20 camels, including young animals and their mothers that are not used for riding. A ride may range from half a day to 7-day-trips and various routes are offered to explore northern Tanzania. The community project aims at improving the living standards of local Maasai people by sustainable tourism, while at the same time sensitising tourists for the Maasai culture. The community fee, which is already included in the tour price, is used for the construction of a new primary school, scholarships for secondary education of Maasai children, and various improvements of the local living conditions. 
 
Mkuru is the usual starting point of the camel riding safaris. Mkuru is located north of Mount Meru and Arusha national park in the middle of Maasailand and quite difficult to access. There, the MCG additionally run a tent camp and offer overnight stays.

At a multiple-day safari, you are going to sleep in a tent that is being set up by the Maasai. All meals are going to be cooked by the Maasai. A visit of a traditional Maasai-Boma is included in every camel safari.

The following options are available:

One day camel riding safari

Starting from Mkuru, you are going to ride on the back of your camel through the beautiful savannah to a cave, which is populated by over 300 baboons every night. The cave is further a specific place of worship for the Maasai: „Orpul“, a healing ritual with the essential consumption of meat to strengthen body and mind, is regularly held at this place. On the way there you are going to see a dam from German colonial times.  
Minimum number of participants: 2, maximum number: 15

2 days /one night camel riding safari  

This option covers the same riding area of the day trip, but offers a longer route. We are going to stay one night in the bush.

3 days / 2 nights camel riding safari

This trip offers two different route options. You can either choose to ride from Mkuru along the northern side of Mount Meru to „Ngare Nairobi“, which is a traditional Maasai village with an exceptional view on Mount Kilimanjaro, or you choose the route along the „Longido Mountain“ to „Longido“ village. Both options include overnight stays in tents, set up by the Maasai. You are certainly going to witness wild African animals on your way, such as antelopes, zebras, giraffes, ostriches and various birds.

5 days / 4-nights camel riding safari

This route, starting at Kitumbaine, leads you and your camel through wide plains of the Maasailand between Gelai and the mountains of Ketumbainei and ends at the Ngorongoro Conservation area. The region is populated by a wide variety of wild African animals. You are going to sleep in a mobile tent in the middle of the bush, listening to the laughter of hyenas during the night. Over the day, you may meet curious gazelles, zebras and antelopes. At evenings you are going to sit at a campfire under the endless African night sky, listening to the inspiring sounds of the lively savannah. At the fifth day of the trip, we are going to arrive at „Oldonyo Lengai“, the legendary vulcano of the Maasai god „Lengai“, situated close to the Natron lake.

7 days / 6 nights camel riding safari

Loose your sense of time and discover a magical world full of beauty and wonder. The 7 day safari leads you through the wide plains around the mountains of Ketumbainei and Lengai to the Natron lake that is uniquely coloured by millions of pink flamingos. The last three days, we are being guided by the holy Oldoinyo Lengai vulcano that rises imposingly above the savannah.

The minimum number of participants for all multiple day safaris: 2, maximum: 6.

The Maasai additionally offer hiking trips, the visit of a traditional Maasai healer and bush dinner.  


Info box:

Rates (All rates per person):

1 Day camel safari:

1 Person 160 €
2 Persons 105 €
3 Person
s 80 €
4 Person
s 70 €
5 Person
s 65 €
6+ Person
s 55 €

2 Days camel safari:

2 Persons 280 €
3 Person
s 250 €
4 Person
s 210 €
5 Person
s 205 €
6 Person
s 195 €

3 Days camel safari:

2 Persons 430 €
3 Person
s 400 €
4 Person
s 355 €
5 Person
s 345 €
6 Person
s 335 €

5 Days camel safari:

2 Person
s 800 €
3 Person
s 760 €
4 Person
s 600 €
5 Person
s 585 €
6 Person
s 580 €

7 Days camel safari:

2 Persons 1030 €
3 Person
s 940 €
4 Person
s 760 €
5 Person
s 700 €
6 Person
s 680 €

Fee includes:

* Return transfers from Moshi or Arusha to the starting and end point of the camel riding safari
* Guide (Maasai and Meru)
* camels for client riding, staff and luggage  
* all activities as mentioned in the tour description
* for multiple day safaris: lodging in mobile tents, full board including beverages such as water, tea and coffee
* Community Development fee
* Tax

The meals are a combination of Tanzanian and western food. If desired, a goat can be slaughtered for barbecue (traditional meal of Maasai people).

Not included:

* Travel to Arusha or Moshi
* Insurances
* Softdrinks and beer
* Tips

children: 0-5 years no charge, 6-12 years a 50 % of adult rate, 12+ years full rate

-> Now book this adventure!

Drucken E-Mail
Cocinarte
 
Cocinarte
 
Cocinarte
 
Cocinarte
 
Cocinarte
 
Cocinarte
 
Cocinarte
 
Cocinarte
 

Massai Kamelsafari

Ein Tansanier somalischer Abstammung brachte Anfang der 90er-Jahre etwa 20 Kamele von Somalia nach Tansania, um dort Touristen das Kamelreiten anzubieten. Er meldete die Aktivität jedoch nicht als Gewerbe an und als die tansanischen Behörden nachträglich Steuern von ihm forderten, flüchtete er und lies die Kamele vor Ort.

Die Steuerbehörde integrierte die Kamele in ein Programm zur Armutsbekämpfung, das schon seit einigen Jahren in Tansania durchgeführt wird. Dabei wurde jeweils eine Ziege oder ein Rind einer bedürftigen Familie gegeben, die das jeweils erste Nachkommen dieses Tieres einer weiteren Familie weitergeben musste. Mit den Kamelen wurde es genauso gemacht, und dadurch wurden die Kamele Bestandteil der örtlichen Nutztiere und werden heute neben Eseln als Transporttiere eingesetzt. Sie vertragen das Klima in Tansania sehr gut, sind gesund und vermehren sich. Ungefähr 400 Kamele leben heute in Tansania, die alle von den in den 1990-er-Jahren aus Somalia gebrachten 20 Kamelen abstammen.
 
Eine italienische NGO startete 2005 zusammen mit Massai aus dem Gebiet "Mkuru" das Kamelreiten erneut als touristisches Angebot, das aber inzwischen komplett von den Massai alleine betrieben wird, unterstützt vom "Tanzania Cultural Tourism Programme" des Tanzania Tourist Board.
 
Die Mkuru Camel Group (MCG) besteht heute aus 16 Massai, die ungefähr 20 Kamele besitzen, inklusive Jungtiere und Muttertiere, die nicht für das Reiten eingesetzt werden. Auf verschiedenen Routen kann man zwischen einem halben Tag und 7 Tagen eine Kamelsafari durch Nordtansania machen. Das Hauptziel des Community-Projekts ist es, den Lebensstandard der örtlichen Massai durch nachhaltigen, kulturell interessierten und umweltverträglichen Tourismus zu verbessern. Durch die "Community Fee", die im Preis beinhaltet ist wird die Grundschule finanziert, ebenso werden dadurch Stipendien für weiterführende Schulen bezahlt sowie andere Verbesserungen der Lebensbedingungen in Mkuru ermöglicht.
 
Startpunkt der Safaris ist Mkuru, ein schwer zugänglicher Ort mitten im Massailand nördlich von Mount Meru und des Arusha-Nationalparks. Dort betreibt die Gruppe auch ein Zeltcamp, in dem Übernachtungen möglich sind.

Während der Mehrtages-Kamelsafaris schläft man in Zelten, die mitgebracht werden und von Massai aufgebaut werden. Sämtliches Essen wird für Euch gekocht.
 
Der Besuch eines Massai-Bomas ist in jeder Kamelsafari mit dabei.
 
Die folgenden Kamelsafaris stehen zur Verfügung.

Eintages-Kamelreitesafari

Von Mkuru reitest Du auf einem Kamel durch die Savanne zu einer Höhle, die jede Nacht von über 300 Pavianen aufgesucht wird. Die Höhle ist auch eine Kultstätte für die Massai, dort halten sie regelmäßig "Orpuls" ab, eine Tradition, bei der jede Menge Fleisch gegessen wird, um stärker zu werden. Auf dem Weg dorthin sieht man auch einen Staudamm aus der deutschen Kolonialzeit.

Mindestteilnehmerzahl: 2, Maximal: 15

2-Tage-1-Nacht Kamelreitesafari

In demselben Gebiet wie bei der Tagestour reiten wir einen länger Weg und verbringen dabei eine Nacht in der Savanne.

3-Tage-2-Nächte Kamelreitesafaris

Hierbei stehen zwei alternative Routen zur Verfügung. Entweder man reitet von Mkuru an der Nordseite des Mt. Meru nach Ngare Nairobi, einem Massai-Dorf mit tollem Blick auf den Kilimanjaro, oder man folgt dem Longido Mountain bis zum Longido-Dorf. Dabei schläft man in beiden Optionen zweimal in mobilen Zelten, die die Massai für Dich aufbauen. Auf dem Weg sieht man wilde afrikanische Tiere wie Antilopen, Zebras, Giraffen, Strauße und viele Vögel.

5-Tage-4-Nächte Kamelreitesafari

Von Kitumbaine reitest Du auf einem Kamel durch die weiten Ebenen des Massailandes zwischen Gelai und den Ketumbainei-Bergen zum Ngorongoro-Naturschutzgebiet. Die Gegend ist voller afrikanischer Wildtiere.  Du schläfst in einem mobilen Zelt und hörst dabei mitten in der Savanne nachts das Lachen von Hyänen und tagsüber triffst Du auf neugierige Gazellen, Zebras und Antilopen. Am Abend sitzt Du am Lagerfeuer und hörst die Geräusche der Savanne unter dem endlosen Sternenhimmel. Am 5. Tag erreichen wir gegen Mittag Oldonyo Lengai, den sagenhaften Vulkan des Massaigottes Lengai, nahe des Natronsees.

7-Tage-6-Nächte Kamelreitesafari

Verliere Dein Zeitgefühl und erlebe eine Welt voller Schönheit! Auf der 7-Tage-Kamelsafari reitest Du durch die Ebenen unter den Ketumbainei-Bergen und Lengai immer Richtung Natronsee, pink gefärbt durch Millionen Flamingos. Auf den letzten drei Tagen leitet uns der Vulkan Oldoinyo Lengai, der heilige Berg der Massai, der sich mächtig über die Steppe erhebt.

Die Mindestteilnehmerzahl für alle Mehrtages-Kamelsafaris ist 2, maximal 6.

Die Massai bieten außerdem auch Wandersafaris an, den Besuch eines traditionellen Heilers sowie ein Buschdinner.

 

Infobox:

Preise (Alle Preise pro Person):

1 Tages-Kamelsafari

1 Person 160 €
2 Personen 105 €
3 Personen 80 €
4 Personen 70 €
5 Personen 65 €
6+ Personen 55 €

2 Tages-Kamelsafari

2 Personen 280 €
3 Personen 250 €
4 Personen 210 €
5 Personen 205 €
6 Personen 195 €

3 Tages-Kamelsafari

2 Personen 430 €
3 Personen 400 €
4 Personen 355 €
5 Personen 345 €
6 Personen 335 €


5 Tages-Kamelsafari

2 Personen 800 €
3 Personen 760 €
4 Personen 600 €
5 Personen 585 €
6 Personen 580 €


7 Tage-Kamelsafari

2 Personen 1030 €
3 Personen 940 €
4 Personen 760 €
5 Personen 700 €
6 Personen 680 €

Preis beinhaltet:

* Transfer hin und zurück von Moshi oder Arusha zum Kamelreitestart- und Endpunkt
* Führer (Massai und Meru)
* Kamele zum Reiten und für die Begleiter und Gepäck
* Aktivitäten wie im Reiseverlauf beschrieben
* Für Mehrtagessafaris: Unterbringung in mobilen Zelten, Vollpension mit Mineralwasser, Tee und Kaffe,
* Community Development-Beitrag <
* Steuern

Bei dem Essen handelt es sich um eine Mischung tansanischem und westlichem Essens. Auf Wunsch wird eine Ziege geschlachtet und gegrillt.

Nicht inklusive:
* Anreise nach Arusha oder Moshi
* Versicherungen
* Softdrinks und Bier
* Trinkgelder

Kinder: 0-5 Jahre gratis, 6-12 Jahre 50% des Erwachsenenpreises, 12+ Jahre voller Preis

Diese Aktivität jetzt buchen!